top of page

Amo estar aqui

It has been a month since I moved to Belo Horizonte. After all the novelties came splashing at me and the feelings settled down, I'm able to make a something that you can call an opinion about my life here. I'm blindly amazed by the good life here, but I will try to be realistic while writing this.

At first, I experienced some difficulties making friends because I couldn't communicate well, but at the end, I have realized that it doesn't matter how good you are at Portuguese because there is always a way to speak (sometimes with arms, legs, everything). Brazilians are very open and very very very friendly. When they hear you speaking English, everyone wants to talk with you and ask a few things about your country. I enjoy having those little chit-chats! Every weekend, together with my friends, I explore different places; new pubs, bars, parks...

But more than that, what makes a sparkle in my eyes are all that beautiful rooftop views. Being there makes me realize again and again how beautiful life is and how extremely happy and grateful I am to have this kind of opportunity in my life.

Before I came here, people were filling my head with bad thoughts and sayings about Brasil. But exactly because of that, because of those judgments, even more, I wanted to come here to see how ''bad'' it actually is. Is it really that dangerous? Is it really that dirty? That poor?!

To be honest, it's not how people say it is. I haven't seen that many places yet but so far I haven't got a feeling that it is dangerous or THAT bad. There are few favellas in my city and sometimes you can see people sleeping in the streets. We even passed in the car by the few 'good ones'. A big segregation of classes exists here in Brasil so people from upper class live very comfortable in big houses at the ''rich part of the city''. While others are struggling to have one meal a day. One night we were going by bus to a friend living 'downtown' in a good part of the city, but we had to pass through a place where I saw a lot of homeless adults and children. It was very shocking to see children sleeping in the streets. It is so easy to be blinded by the good stuff here and to completely close the eyes to all the bad, but it is important to be aware of the reality. Apart from that and other political and economic problems, Brasil is a good place to be. I believe, a foreigner can enjoy a lot here. Brasil has so many beautiful things to offer. Friendliness of the city, freshness of the fruit, deep culture, many historical sites, sandy beaches, breath-taking views, warmth of the people and muitas outras coisas :)

Honestly, I am loving every minute of being here! Every morning sun stretches its warm arms and wakes me up, putting a smile on my face, knowing it's gonna be another beautiful day, full of new things to discover. During the day streets are very busy with passing cars, hurrying students, people carrying groceries, here and then I see a carriage pulled by a horse in my street too! The city breathes with life and variety during the peek of the day. I still haven't yet figured out, do I like more sunny mornings or quiet nights. In my street, when the sun hides behind the hill and stars appear dancing in the night sky, a peacefulness approaches. I enjoy looking out my window and seeing the city falling asleep. There is just something beautifully romantic about the nights here! As you can see dear readers, my point of view might not be too realistic because I'm a dreamer who is in love with life...and I always tend to make the best out of every moment but what I can surely say is.. Don't be foolish by judgments and information that mass media shares, rather see it with your own eyes and form an opinion. That way, your horizons and mind expands.

As a final note, I appreciate all the people who I can call my friends here and with whom I can travel and explore the city. P.S. My "Gringa's team" - I love you guys ;)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page